Friday, May 24, 2013

John Spinholster Land Grant 1824 Georgia

John Spinholster was given a land grant of 250 acres by the Governor of Georgia 5 May 1824 in what was then Early County, Georgia (at that time all of Southwest, GA--see note below). At the time of the grant, it says that he was living in Liberty County, Georgia.

John Pinholster's name is variously spelled Pinholster, Shinholster, Spinholster. It is said to be an Anglicized version of his possibly Minorcan name, which may have been Espineta (Minorcan) or Espinosa (Spanish version).

179 State of Georgia

By His Excellency George M. Troup Governor and Commander in Chief of the Army and Navy of this State, and of the Militia thereof.

To all to whom these presents shall come, Greeting:

Know Ye, That in Pursuance of the several acts of the General Assembly of this State, passed the 15th day of December 1818, and the 16th day of December 1819, for making distribution of the land lately acquired of the Creek and Cherokee Nation of Indians, and forming the counties of Early, Irwin, Applin, Walton, Gwinette, Hall, Habersham, and Rabun, in this State, I have Given and Granted,and by these presents in the name and behalf of this State, do give and grant unto

John Spinholster of Liberty County his heirs and assigns forever, all that tract or lot of land containing Two hundred and fifty acres, situate, lying and being in the Eighteenth District Early county in the said State, which said tract or lot of land is known and distinguished in the plan of said district by the Number Two Hundred and Thirty Two having such shape, form and marks as appear by a plat of the same hereunto annexed; to Have and To Hold the said tract or lot of land, together with all and singular the rights, members and appurtenances thereof, whatsoever, unto the said

John Spinholster his heirs and assigns, to his and Theirs own proper use, benefit and behoof forever in fee simple, Given, under my hand and the Great Seal of the said State, this Fifth day of May in the year eighteen hundred and Twenty four and of the Independence of the United States of America the Forty Eighth

Signed by his Excellency the Governor the

5th day of May 1824 G.M.Troup

E.H. Pierce S.E.D.

Registered 5th day of May 1824
Originally Early County encompassed all of southwest Georgia, about 3,770 square miles. Ten counties (Baker, Calhoun, Clay, Decatur, Dougherty, Grady, Miller, Mitchell, Seminole, and Thomas) were created in whole or in part from the original boundaries of Early County, reducing its size to its current 511.2 square miles. Today, Early County's boundaries are the Chattahoochee River and Alabama to the west, Clay and Calhoun counties to the north, Baker County to the east, and Miller and Seminole counties to the south.

No comments:

Post a Comment